1. What does Defect classification mean?
    • Defect classification:
    • Defects detected during visual inspection are classified within 3 categories, "Critical", "Major" and "Minor" and the normal definitions are:
    • Critical defects - A defect that fails to meet mandatory regulations and / or affects the safety of the consumer when using the product.
    • Major defects - A defect that is likely to result in product failure, reduction the usability of the product and obvious appearance defect affecting the salability of the product.
    • Minor defects - A defect that is not likely to reduce the usability of the product, but is likely to reduce the salability or a discrepancy from the defined quality standard or not same as the original sample.
  2. What does Sampling standard mean?
    • Sampling standard:
    • HQTS uses the MIL STD 105E tables, which are recognized standard by every industrial companies. This American standard has now equivalents in all national and international standardization organizations. Basically, this standard is a proven method to accept or reject a production lot by inspection a random selected lot of product.
  3. What does AQL mean?
    • Acceptable Quality Level (AQL):
    • The designed value of defects, expressed as a percentage by the particular sampling procedure and level used will identify what the buyer will normally accept in the majority of cases. Different AQLs may be designed for different defect classifications such as Critical, Major and Minor.
Defect High valued products Low valued products
Critical Not allowed Not allowed
Major AQL 1.0/1.5 AQL 2.5
Minor AQL 2.5/4.0 AQL 4.0